logo 
spacer
  

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

If you have an opinion, you should share it! Register Now!

America's Debate hosts the best in news, government, and political debate. Register now to take part in the most civil and constructive debate on the Internet. Join the community, and get ready to be challenged!

Click here to start

> Sponsored Links

Register to remove these ads!
> Chat Room Support
Mike
post Jun 18 2004, 09:20 PM
Post #1


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



If you are having problems getting into the chat room, or have any questions about the chatroom, feel free to post them here.

I'll do my best to get them answered. smile.gif

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
doomed_planet
post Oct 6 2004, 06:49 AM
Post #2


*******
Five Hundred Club

Sponsor
December 2003

Group: Sponsors
Posts: 856
Member No.: 1,097
Joined: August-31-03

From: Aberdeen
Gender: Female
Politics: Independent
Party affiliation: None



It has been several months since I've connected to the chat room.
Previously I had no problem doing so.

I tried to connect this evening and received this message:

Unable to connect: java.security.AccessControlException : access denied

I'm computer clumsy, so any help would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Oct 6 2004, 06:57 AM
Post #3


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



Heya Doomed. smile.gif

Assuming you have Windows of some sort, can you click this link to run through the Sun Java update for your computer?

It's an autoinstaller, and the chatroom should work after you install it and reboot. smile.gif

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
doomed_planet
post Oct 6 2004, 07:06 AM
Post #4


*******
Five Hundred Club

Sponsor
December 2003

Group: Sponsors
Posts: 856
Member No.: 1,097
Joined: August-31-03

From: Aberdeen
Gender: Female
Politics: Independent
Party affiliation: None



QUOTE
Assuming you have Windows of some sort, can you click
this link to
run through the Sun Java update for your computer?

It's an autoinstaller, and the chatroom should work after you install it and reboot.


I will give it a whirl.. Thank you! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Christopher
post Dec 4 2004, 01:42 AM
Post #5


********
Millennium Mark

Group: Members
Posts: 1,352
Member No.: 1,696
Joined: November-9-03

From: Phoenix AZ
Gender: Male
Politics: Independent
Party affiliation: Private



QUOTE
java.lang.SecurityException: class "IRCApplet"'s signer information does not match signer information of other classes in the same package


This is what i got when i tried to enter the Chatroom.

I am reloading the latest Java.

However I also just upgraded to the latest Firefox

uhhmmm.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TedClayton
post Dec 4 2004, 02:18 AM
Post #6


***
Junior Contributor

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Member No.: 4,029
Joined: November-30-04

Gender: Undisclosed
Politics: Undisclosed
Party affiliation: Undisclosed



I have Firefox-v0.8 and MS Internet Explorer-v6.0 on old Win98se. This Wed. evening at Chat time, Firefox acted like it was loading the Java app, but then just sat there with a big blank area on the screen.

I jumped to IE6 and it ran the applet. Notably, I have had chronic problems trying to upgrade my Java RM using Sun. I have, tho, used an "IE6 upgrade" supplied by my ISP on CD: I suspect this rather hefty MS upgrade contains a simplified Java RM.

These freebie IE6 upgrades are probably a common item at ISPs ... even if they are not your own ISP ... so they can get/keep their clients functional....

Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cube Jockey
post Dec 4 2004, 06:05 AM
Post #7


*********
Now with more truthiness

Sponsor
May 2004

Group: Sponsors
Posts: 2,799
Member No.: 1,224
Joined: September-16-03

From: San Francisco, CA
Gender: Male
Politics: Liberal
Party affiliation: Democrat



You might try upgrading FireFox Ted. They have version 1.0 out now and I use version 0.93 or something and it works fine in the chatroom.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Green Mind
post Feb 2 2005, 12:56 AM
Post #8


*
New Member

Group: New Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2,179
Joined: January-11-04

From: Tucson, Az
Gender: Male
Politics: Independent
Party affiliation: None



What's up,

I've been getting an error that says "This program does not support the protocol for accessing irc://irc.americasdebate.com/chat".

I'm not quite sure what I need. blink.gif

I'm on running on a MacOS 9.2 and browsing on Internet Explorer 5.

-Erik
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Feb 2 2005, 01:56 AM
Post #9


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



QUOTE(Green Mind @ Feb 1 2005, 07:56 PM)
What's up,

I've been getting an error that says "This program does not support the protocol for accessing irc://irc.americasdebate.com/chat".

I'm not quite sure what I need.   blink.gif

I'm on running on a MacOS 9.2 and browsing on Internet Explorer 5.

-Erik
*



Hey Erik. smile.gif

Could you try this link please:

http://www.americasdebate.com/chat/small.php

Clicking the irc:// links only works if you have a standalone IRC client installed on your computer.

Let me know if it doesn't work!

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Green Mind
post Feb 2 2005, 02:23 AM
Post #10


*
New Member

Group: New Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 2,179
Joined: January-11-04

From: Tucson, Az
Gender: Male
Politics: Independent
Party affiliation: None



QUOTE(Mike @ Feb 1 2005, 06:56 PM)
QUOTE(Green Mind @ Feb 1 2005, 07:56 PM)
What's up,

I've been getting an error that says "This program does not support the protocol for accessing irc://irc.americasdebate.com/chat".

I'm not quite sure what I need.   blink.gif

I'm on running on a MacOS 9.2 and browsing on Internet Explorer 5.

-Erik
*



Hey Erik. smile.gif

Could you try this link please:

http://www.americasdebate.com/chat/small.php

Clicking the irc:// links only works if you have a standalone IRC client installed on your computer.

Let me know if it doesn't work!

Mike
*



Sorry to bother you again, Mike, but--

I clicked the link that you posted for me and the new window popped up, loaded some emoticons at the bottom of the page, and loaded a large white box (which I'm assuming was the chat box), but nothing else happened. wacko.gif

I appreciate you helping me!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Feb 2 2005, 03:06 AM
Post #11


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



Ok,so the Java applet won't work for some reason.

The first thing I would try is a different browser. I know Macs come with a few different browsers, so give it a shot. We may get lucky.

Other wise, there are two options I see:

1. Upgrade your Java.
2. Use a separate IRC client.

--------------------------
Upgrading your Java
--------------------------
If you have OS9.2, click the "Download" link on the following page, and follow the instructions to update your Java:
http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macos/377

This one is valid for 8.1 - 9.x:
http://tc.versiontracker.com/product/redir...J_2.2.5.smi.bin

Once you've updated your Java, go to the link I sent you to before and it should work. smile.gif


--------------------------
Separate IRC client
--------------------------

You can connect to the chat room by installing software on your own computer. Unfortunately, I know very little about Macs.

Here is a link to a range of freeware/shareware IRC clients for Mac:

http://www.versiontracker.com/php/search.p...D=macos&x=0&y=0

I skimmed through the list, and this one looked decent:

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macos/3970

Once installed, you would have to set the software to connect to our server:

Address: irc.americasdebate.com
Port: 6667

Once connected, you need to join the chat by typing:

/join #chat

--------------------------------------------------

Let me know if either of these are an option!

Mike smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
turnea
post Feb 2 2005, 11:40 PM
Post #12


**********
Tweedy Impertinence

Sponsor
December 2005

Group: Sponsors
Posts: 5,585
Member No.: 133
Joined: September-27-02

From: Alabama
Gender: Male
Politics: Liberal
Party affiliation: None



Every time I try and long into the chat room here at school I get this message.
QUOTE
Unable to connect : java.net.ConnectException : Connection timed out: connect

I'm using FireFox 1.0 and the chat seems to work fine at home...

I suspect the school has somehow blocked IRC, but I though I oughta ask anyway. unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Feb 3 2005, 01:57 AM
Post #13


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



IRC uses port 6667, and there is a pretty decent chance they have blocked it.

I just upgraded the chat applet to the newest version, so it may or may not help it.

If it doesn't work now, we're probably out of luck. sad.gif

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SWM28WDC
post Mar 2 2005, 02:47 AM
Post #14


******
geo-classical liberal

Sponsor
August 2004

Group: Sponsors
Posts: 409
Member No.: 2,208
Joined: January-14-04

From: Washington, DC (MD)
Gender: Male
Politics: Liberal
Party affiliation: Independent



Alas, it seems the District of Columbia doesn't want me to use IRC while I am at work. Or some such nonsense.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Mar 2 2005, 07:06 PM
Post #15


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



Stinking firewalls! tongue.gif

Were you ever able to connect before? Some people said they had a hard time logging in last night

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hobbes
post Sep 2 2005, 02:38 AM
Post #16


Group Icon

**********
No More Mr. Nice Guy!

Group: Committee Members
Posts: 5,311
Member No.: 1,155
Joined: September-8-03

From: Dallas, TX
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



QUOTE(Mike @ Oct 6 2004, 12:57 AM)
Heya Doomed. smile.gif

Assuming you have Windows of some sort, can you click this link to run through the Sun Java update for your computer?

It's an autoinstaller, and the chatroom should work after you install it and reboot. smile.gif

Mike
*



I can't run this package...says its not a valid Windows Installer package.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Sep 2 2005, 02:41 AM
Post #17


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



The automatic upgrader wouldn't work?

It should-- Sun owns Java, and that is the only place to get it these days.

Did you use FireFox, or Internet Explorer?

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShadowHalo
post Aug 10 2006, 04:59 AM
Post #18


*
New Member

Group: New Members
Posts: 2
Member No.: 6,340
Joined: August-3-06

From: Maryland
Gender: Male
Politics: Undisclosed
Party affiliation: Democrat



I can't seem to get in. I'm using the link for the smallest applet, and I tried updating Java, but I still get the following error: "Unable to connect : java.net.SocketException : Software caused connection abort: connect".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike
post Aug 10 2006, 05:12 AM
Post #19


Group Icon

********
***I AM NOT A LIBERTARIAN***

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,164
Member No.: 1
Joined: July-24-02

From: Savannah, GA
Gender: Male
Politics: Conservative
Party affiliation: Independent



Hi ShadowHalo.

I'll look into this and see what we can do to fix it.

smile.gif

Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ConservPat
post Nov 16 2006, 01:45 AM
Post #20


*********
Advanced Senior Contributor

Group: Members
Posts: 3,191
Member No.: 415
Joined: January-31-03

From: Boston
Gender: Male
Politics: Very Liberal
Party affiliation: Independent



Okay, so this time I tried to get into the chat room it said "Multiple Java Machines running at the same time caused this error"...I'm computer illiterate, so uh...help. blush.gif

CP us.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

  
Go to the top of the page - Simple Version Time is now: June 19th, 2018 - 12:52 AM
©2002-2010 America's Debate, Inc.  All rights reserved.