Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The "sense" of evolution
America's Debate > Archive > Assorted Issues Archive > [A] Science and Technology
Google
Ultimatejoe
Evolution has many holes in it.  Although the "evolution" of favorable traits within a species is identifiable, transition from one type of lifeform to another is not.  As a matter of fact, I do not know of ANY evidence of a transitory lifeform between, say humans and monkeys, or birds and fish, etc.

Top 9 Problems with Evolution
That source is pretty well documented.

I am a scientist (engineer, actually) I like to think I have an analytical mind (because I do  cool.gif  ).  I agree that natural selection makes sense.  However, evolution between one species and another does NOT make sense.  Nor does the spontaneous formation of life from some primordial ooze.

I do not believe that the Old Testament was literal.  I believe much of it was allegorical.  People were very simple back then, with VERY limited knowledge.  They needed a simple to understand solution (hell, most people still do).  But, as a theory of life and ecology, evolution does not make a lot of sense.  At its core, even evolution relies on an event which we cannot prove and certainly cannot duplicate (the spontaneous creation of a "simple" life form from basic elements and compounds).  I can't see how that is any different, really, than creationism.

EDIT: to add another link, an excellent one:

Life from non-life: Spontaneous Biogenesis?

That quote is courtesy Amlord in another discussion. I'm curious WHY it doesn't make sense? It seems perfectly sensible to me. If certain traits become exaggerated in a single species then it is only logical that over 2 million years those traits could eventually be dominant enough for a new species to emerge. I fail to see how this doesn't make sense. If you believe that something happens once, then why wouldn't it make sense that the same thing would not continue to happen over time?