Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Priorities and Issues
America's Debate > Archive > Assorted Issues Archive > [A] Science and Technology > [A] Environmental Debate
Google
jessetro
Hi, everybody. I'm new to America's Debate, but I think I've read enough posts to get used to the general flow of communication here. I came here to share with and--especially--receive wisdom from people who care a lot about politics and important issues.

I have recently found my priorities scrambled with, broken, and tampered with by lies and misinformation. You see, I (like any other decent human being) care about many issues, including the environment, human rights and welfare, animal rights and welfare, reducing the size of big government, my own life goals, and more.

Unfortunately, I'm young and inexperienced, so I must depend on others for information regarding most of these. The problem is, almost everyone and every source of info lies, exagerates, or misuses info. I know that's a bold thing to say about "almost everybody," but it's self-evident!!! In general, there's a 80% spectrum or so on almost all info I'm trying to get, with most of the info on one of the extremes.

For example: 97% of America is undeveloped, most of America's forests are fine, 80% of America's forests are lost forever, and 10% of america's forest will either be all that remains or all that is lost in the near future. Additionally, America's forests are simultaneously coming back faster than they are being lost, and being lost faster than recovered. And, BTW, nobody even defines "forest" in any of these stats, so I don't even know how much of our forests are Old/Second Growth, and how much of the forest being cut down is OG. 40% of all forests have been cut for sure, but I'm told that most of it has grown back as second growth or most of it is lost forever, and that we are permanently losing or regaining about 3% of the world's forest a year.