Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Juvenille offenders...or are they?
America's Debate > Archive > Policy Debate Archive > [A] Domestic Policy
Google
carlitoswhey
It seems to me that every time a young person commits a crime, particularly a high-profile crime, you can expect to hear these words in the news coverage - "prosecutors are considering charging him as an adult." I am not a legal expert, but this always makes me think twice.

Here are some examples randomly culled from the news, where sometimes we do and sometimes we don't charge juvenile offenders as adults.

Jury rejects killer boy's Zoloft defense
CHARLESTON, S.C. — A 15-year-old boy who claimed the antidepressant Zoloft drove him to kill his grandparents and burn their house down was found guilty of murder Tuesday and sentenced to 30 years in prison.  The jury took six hours to reject Christopher Pittman's claim that he was "involuntarily intoxicated" by the drug and could not be held responsible for the crime.

The case was one of the first of its kind to come to trial in the United States since the government began taking a close look at the dangers of antidepressant use among teenagers.

Pittman was 12 in 2001 when he killed his grandparents, Joe Pittman, 66, and Joy Pittman, 62, with a pump-action shotgun as they slept in their rural home, then torched their house and drove off in their car. He was charged as an adult.

Teen Put in Juvenile Custody in Killing
Samantha S. Staycoff, the 17-year-old Lusby girl charged in October with killing her 3-month-old baby by stuffing a pair of socks into his mouth, acknowledged her involvement in the infant's death last week and was placed in the custody of state juvenile authorities Thursday.
Staycoff, a former Patuxent High School senior, initially was charged as an adult and had been facing a combined maximum of 60 years in prison if she had been convicted of the criminal charges against her -- first-degree child abuse and second-degree murder.